Month: October 2012

  •  Last week on Thursday Sienna came home from school with a 101.5 temp and said she had a headache. Over the weekend her fever went away, but she still had the headache. By sunday she was having a hard time with lights bothering her. Sunday night early Monday morning, she woke us up crying her head hurt her so bad. She started vomiting and her eyes were really puffy.

    Let me just say, that you know what my first thought was. I was praying she didn't have moya moya and it was just a virus or something.

    Well Mark rushed her to the ER and came back with CT results of Hydrocephalous. (water on the brain) . They discharged her to follow with her Dr that same day. We made the appt for 11:30 that morning. The Dr wanted an MRI MRA with contrast. They sent us home to wait for the scheduled appt.

    Well she got worse..fast. She slept on the couch all day (I was thinking they were rushing the scan so I was waiting for the phone call all day) At around 7:30 pm she tried to get up to use the bathroom.She rolled on the floor holding her head and moaning. Mark and I just looked at each other and knew we were taking her somewhere and fast, but not to the same ER. we Decided to make the long trip to another town, where those Doctors sent us directly via ambulance to Albany Med. By late Monday night early Tuesday morning, we found out what was going on. 

    She had a cyst in her Brain. It was closing over the hole to drain spinal fluid.  

    A large one, and it was directly on her brain stem.

    Surgery was scheduled within a half hour and they started prepping her. I CAN'T EVEN BEGIN TO EXPLAIN THE FEELING.

    Now Doctors are very upfront and honest with everything that could go wrong. This was about too much for me to hear. I wanted to wait for family to get there first, so they could see her before she went in, and we wouldn't be alone.

    Doc said no time. he wanted to start right away. 

    Not even going to go into details on the wait. It was just....excruciating. I actually begged the nurses to knock me out with something, I did not want to be awake, I wanted to wake up from a drug induced sleep to everything being ok. 

    We held our breath when they called us to go see her. It was a very risky surgery because they had to navigate to the center of the brain being careful not to damage the brain stem while they popped the cyst and gathered tissue for biopsy.

    When we walked in the room, I heard her crying.The Nurse said she was calling for me. My heart was pounding so hard for so long that I was hearing my heart beat in my ears. As soon as I saw her reach for me, with both arms and she said she wanted to go home, the beating stopped in my ears.

    I got really sweaty, VERY hot.

    I think within minutes I had fainted or something. I woke up on a bed next to her. I was dripping in sweat. Then I was freezing. They were having me drink some juice or something with sugar.

    She MADE IT through the surgery with no complications.

    She had Lauras Doctor, who in my opinion, is the best neurosurgeon around. 

    I am still recovering...

    Sienna is back to herself. We were discharged two, TWO days after her surgery. 

    We are however waiting on pathology to come back with results of the biopsy. We are praying for the best.

    I have researched different cysts, the most common are benign. Because he could not remove the base of the cyst though, (it was on the brain stem) there is a chance it can grow back slowly over time. I really think we already hit the "extremely rare" category with Laura and her Moya moya. (by the way she is doing great!) So I am hoping this time fits in the more common category.

    I want to thank all who know us , who were thinking of us and praying during this time. I thank my mom who took care of her many grandbabies while we were in Albany.

     Also I appreciate the great love shown to us by spiritual brothers and sisters, near to our home, and also in Albany. I find it so comforting that no matter where we go we are looked after by each other.

    Most importantly... I thank my God Jehovah for getting us through this, another of many trials I have encountered lately.

    2 Corinthians 4:7 ~ However, we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the power beyond what is normal may be God’s and not that out of ourselves.

     

     

     

     

October 2012
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Recent Comments

  • cartla2 on Blah
  • celebratinglifeandmotherhood on Blah
  • cartla2 on Blah
  • celebratinglifeandmotherhood on Blah
  • celebratinglifeandmotherhood on Blah

Categories